About

Hello, lovelies! My name is Tina, aka theberlinbabe. I’m a young professional, with a passion for fitness, social consciousness, and international affairs.

I’m currently a freelance English trainer, bartender, and ITA Ambassador. I decided to move abroad and teach English to pave the way for my international business career. I’m not exactly sure what I want to be doing as a career choice within international business, but I know it will involve international management with an emphasis on racial injustice.

Theberlinbabe is my way of sharing my global experiences, promoting racial injustice awareness, and inspiring individuals to follow their dreams and travel the world as well.

020

Where it all started:

I like to believe that I have a more complex background than most, and here’s why.

I was born in Cario, Egpyt, but my family is originally from South Sudan. When I was two years old, my family moved from Africa to the United States. We’ve lived in California, Iowa, and my personal favorite MINNESOTA! Throughout my adult life, I questioned where my passion for international affairs and different cultures came from – now I believe it derived from my international background and immersion within vastly diverse environments.

wp minneapolis.jpg

By the time my junior year of uni came around, all I could think about was studying abroad. I was somewhat apprehensive about being gone for an extended amount of time, so I picked a month-long summer trip to Paris, Strasbourg, and Berlin. I minored in French, so the thought of going to Paris was a dream come true. Little did I know at the time, I would fall in love with Berlin and end up living here.

089

(I took this photo while having lunch with friends. What an incredible view!)

After my trip abroad, I returned to Minneapolis, and a year later I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in International Business with a minor in French. I knew I wanted to go abroad again, I just didn’t know how to make it a reality. I talked to an advisor and the best option at the time was to continue my education with a masters program. I did my research, planned my move, and was set on traveling to Heidelburg, Germany in July of 2015. Unfortunately, my plan didn’t work out because of various reasons. I was quite bummed but decided the corporate life would be best for me. Capella University is where I ended up working as an Enrollment Support Representative. I was there for about a year and saved up enough money to move to Berlin. I had an incredible support system including my boyfriend at the time, close friends, and brother Ringo. If you want to read more about to transition to Berlin, click here.

wpp

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close